Ghana Energy awards launched

The Energy Media Group in collaboration with GP Business Associates has launched the Ghana Energy Award. Launched on August 30, 2017, by the Executive Secretary of the Ghana Energy Commission and Country Chairman of the World Energy Council Ghana, Dr. A.K. Ofosu-Ahenkorah, the scheme seeks to recognize the efforts of outstanding industry players within the oil and gas, power and renewable energy sectors of Ghana.

The event saw representatives from the Hungarian and Korean Embassy, UNDP, USAID and some industry professionals. Vivo Energy, Karpowership, Galaxy oil, OmniBank, Societe Generale Bank and Blue Ocean Investment were also present.

Mr. Henry Teinor, Chief Executive Officer of Energy Media Group, in his speech gave an assurance that the awards would honor industry players who sincerely have played tangible roles in the oil and gas industries in the country.
The awarding panel is chaired by Dr Kwame Ampofo, an Energy Expert and the immediate past Board chairman of the Energy Commission.

Other members include Professor Stephen Adei, former Rector of GIMPA; Dr Lawrence Tetteh, Renowned Worldwide Evangelist and Economist; Lawyer; Mr. Kwame Jantuah, Vice Chairman for the Public Interest Accountability Committee; Dr Jemima Nunoo, Ag. Director, Centre for Management Development Senior; Professor Joseph Aggrey-Fynn, Dean of Oil and Gas Studies, UCC; and Mrs. Harriette Amissah-Arthur, Energy Consultant and Prof Felix Asante, Head of ISSER, Legon

A co-organizer of the awards, Nicholas Frimpong-Manso stated that the awards will be opened for nominations from September 1, 2017 to September 30, 2017. The site to visit to nominate someone is
The Energy Ministry, Energy Commission, National Petroleum Authority, Petroleum Commission Ghana, Ghana Chamber of Bulk oil distributors, Association of Oil Marketing Companies, Chamber of Petroleum Consumers are all associated with the event and have promised to contribute to the initiative.

Ernst & Young, a leading audit firm will validate the final process.

Angela Osei-Badu
Administrative Officer